The Soloist.

After a disappointing Friday night, mainly after I found out that I was not getting two tickets for the Wolverine World Premiere, I decided to see a movie. So I went to the 12:20 am showing of The Soloist.

Right away I caught on to the whole schizophrenia thing right off. I really enjoyed Jamie Foxx’s role, and he pulled it off to perfection. He really did have the world on two strings!!

For me it was particularly nice because I know some of the homeless around ASU, we meet on the streets quite frequently, one of them for example has a PhD in anthropology, I learned a lot from him after sneaking into Jack in the Box to steal him a drink (technically it wasn’t stolen! I did nothing illegal!)

The idea of a genius homeless guy may seem strange to many, but its not to me. everywhere I go I see the homeless, and if I can, I learn their stories. Most of them don’t want to go back to “normal” society, they are quite content where they are. Often I wonder if they have stumbled upon a greater truth that i can’t see.

It reminds me of Madman from Hex and the City (Simon Green, wonderful author!) He was a genius who stumbled upon The Truth, the Truth were nothing can hide, and he went crazy and ended up on the street. That’s how most homeless are, they know something, and they’ve run away from all the madness and created their own.

Anyway, at one point in the film i got to laugh out loud at the audience. It was during a minute (possibly more) long period of synchronization between color and music that closely resembles the visualizations on Windows Media Player. Most of the audience scoffed and booed at the screen and their sad minute of shame, I laughed at them. I can recognize synesthesia when I see it. which made me gape, schizophrenia and synesthesia? poor guy, amazing guy, I mean, just WOW!!

For those of you who didn’t know, synesthesia is one of my favorite things in the world, while not synesthetic myself, I really appreciate a nice story with it. (Freddie Highmore, my favorite actor, is rumored to play a synesthtic boy in a film adaptation of Beautiful Miscellaneous)

Anyway, The soloist, the plot is a but weak, the acting is AMAZING, the going is slow and the movie is a tad long, but you must, MUST go and see it!!

Leave a Reply

