A Wizard of Earthsea

I finally read A Wizard of Earthsea. Even though i have read it once before, in seventh grade alongside The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe, i dismissed it as a bad read. of course I later realized that I was wrong, but i actually forgot the book. Much like i vowed never to read anything by C.S. Lewis.

But since I’ve found myself with quite a bit of free time I’ve been able to go back and read the book again. And i was much impressed. I will now quite certain that after Heroes: Villains Premiere i will go back to Hayden and read all of her books (Heroes is in 22 hours!!!!!!! I am so insanely hyped up about that!!) over the next month. The reason i must read them there is because I’ve had my checking out privileges revoked due to unpaid bills. So, if you can’t reach me, it will be because I’m reading in the library, where i have no cellphone coverage.

And i am very sorry that i ever questioned the book. I knew that Ursula Le Guin is an awesome author, but i somehow dismissed this series. So, i’ve printed a ist of her works and i’m going to work my way down the list.

And i am incredibly happy that for the first time in my known life, i have found a hero of a fantasy novel who isn’t white!! I love it!

Anyway, i need sleep before Heroes, so good night and good luck!

One response to this post.

  1. Yes, The Wizard of Earthsea is nice. LeGuin’s The Dispossessed is also incredible – a fine literary mix of science fiction and social commentary.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

